preservings

exploring, preserving: past, present

Growing Season for Peppers…Waiting…Waiting… #gardening

Leave a comment

Feels like I’ve been waiting forever for the red pepper plants to produce peppers this year. I chose not to start them from seed. Instead, I picked up starter plants from a local greenhouse when they were about 3 inches tall.  After waiting four weeks, I had signs of life.

Grow, my little pepper!

After waiting another six weeks, that pepper is now about the size of a roma tomato.

Keep on growing!

This is the first time I’ve grown red peppers, so I’m not sure if it’s this summer’s weather, my (lack of) watering patterns, or my lack of knowledge regarding growing times for peppers, but it feels like I’ll be waiting forever for these peppers to ripen!

I guess the good news is that the plants have at least two dozen healthy looking peppers on them. I know I will have to pull them into our sunroom soon, since evening temperatures are getting closer to zero lately.  How much longer ’til I can make a stir fry with fresh peppers from the garden??

Author: tjthiessen

explorer, administrator, consultant, student, leader

Leave a Reply

